Meg Cabot's Biography

Meg Cabot is the author of more than 50 books for both adults and teens. Her books have sold over 15 million copies worldwide, many of which have been #1 New York Times bestsellers. The most notable of these is The Princess Diaries series, which is currently being published in over 38 countries and was made into two hit movies by Disney. In addition, Meg wrote the All American Girl, Mediator, and 1-800-Where-R-You series (on which the television series, Missing, was based). She is now writing a new middle grade series called Allie Finkle's Rules for Girls, as well as an edgy new young adult series, Airhead.

Meg was born on February 1, 1967, during the Chinese astrological year of the Fire Horse, a notoriously unlucky sign. Fortunately she grew up in Bloomington, Indiana, where few people were aware of the stigma of being a fire horse — at least until Meg became a teenager, when she flunked freshman Algebra twice, then decided to cut her own bangs. After six years as an undergrad at Indiana University, Meg moved to New York City to pursue a career as an illustrator, at which she failed miserably, forcing her to turn to her favorite hobby — writing novels — for emotional succor. She worked various jobs to pay the rent, including a decade-long stint as the assistant manager of a 700-bed freshmen dormitory at NYU, a position she still occasionally misses.

Meg currently divides her time between Key West, Indiana, and New York City with a primary cat (one-eyed Henrietta), various backup cats, and her husband, who doesn't know he married a fire horse. Please don't tell him.

More Allie Finkle on the STACKS

  • Blog Entries
  • Allie Finkle Video Playlist
  • Allie Finkle Message Board

More Books Like This

  • Dear Dumb Diary by Jim Benton
  • The Baby-Sitters Club by Ann M. Martin
  • The Amazing Days of Abby Hayes by Anne Mazer
  • Candy Apple

Other Sites for You

  • The STACKS
  • The 39 Clues
  • Scholastic Kids Press Corps
  • Scholastic News